You know how to whistle don’t you?

Tulip Time, Yay!

comp

I should get more organised labelling or noting where I put these bulbs, plus some are not from this year of course, so I am a bit vague on the names of some of these tulips.

However, from top to bottom and left to right, we have:

Angelique, pink lily form, Suncatcher, Doll’s Minuet,

Black hero, Formosa, possibly Apricot Dream, turkestanica,

purple lily form, Ballerina, Heart’s Delight, Burgundy?

Anyhow, I love them all and more are appearing every day. I am looking forward to Bruine Wimpel especially, but it looks like I’ll have to wait another couple of week for those. The combination Suncatcher/Pittsburgh was supposed to look great, but there is no sign of the Pittsburgh (mauve) yet. I did add some Doll’s Minuet to the patch though and that is making a very vivid picture with the Suncatcher and is, I like to think, Christopher Lloyd-like.

When I pick the tulips to bring indoors, I am using the Sarah Raven trick of using Euphorbia oblongata to add a great lime green contrast, especially with strong jewel-like colours. Wallflowers always seem to work too, if the tulips need more kick.

About Frogend_dweller

Living in the damp middle of nowhere
This entry was posted in The home garden and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to You know how to whistle don’t you?

  1. I am waiting for ‘Bruine Wimpel’, but am loving ‘Brown Sugar’ which is proving to be a very solid tulip. ‘Belle Epoque’ is also starting to emerge now. You have an enviable selection there 🙂

  2. Chloris says:

    I love your tulip selection, every day brings a few more, I love it that they take their time and don’ t all come at once.

  3. Robbie says:

    You have inspired me to plant more this fall! Beautiful:-) I have a silly gnome in my garden that when you pass, he whistles at you:-) Your post heading made me think of him:-)
    You have a nice selecton of tulips-the squirrels usually eat ours, so if we get some it is a big
    YAY!!! I know the feeling:-)

Leave a Reply

