The Wisteria Waterfall – Partially Controlled Chaos

Whippy new growth on the wisteria

Whippy new growth on the wisteria

When we moved into this house the area looking to the East, beyond the kitchen was devoid of any features or trees of interest, so we set about making a patio area. We decided to include a small formal pond opposite a sitting area under a pergola. We duly planted a Wisteria sinensis on one side and a climbing rose on the other and dreamt of French summer holidays. Disappointingly, the wisteria died, so we re-dug and re-planted another similar wisteria and tried again. Two years later that wisteria died too, but I was determined to have a wisteria on that pergola whatever it took, so we chose a third wisteria. This time it was the vigorous Wisteria floribunda ‘Violacea Plena. The plant was cosseted: watered, mulched, fed and talked to and it survived. There were a couple of years when it looked a bit chlorotic, but we fed our way through that and now it completely covers the pergola.

wisteria covered pergola

Wisteria covered pergola

The rose is just about hanging on, it pokes out at the edges and flowers its little heart out, but it is largely swamped (and since I am not a big fan of thorns, I am not too bothered). The Wisteria trunk has thickened and I like the way it has twisted round the wooden legs. It has completely crushed the original bamboo cane supports and is on its way to doing the same with the 4”x4”s. It makes me think of the Cambodian temple, Angkor Wat.

The ever thickening trunk of Wisteria floribunda 'Violacea Plena'

The ever thickening trunk of Wisteria floribunda ‘Violacea Plena’

The branches loop round the top of the pergola and all winter long provide convenient perches for the bluetits, long-tailed tits and great tits queueing for the bird feeders.

Bluetit waiting in the wisteria for a free spot on the feeder

Bluetit waiting in the wisteria for a free spot on the feeder

Wisteria ‘Violacea plena’ is lovely climber and each year I get excited to see it flower. I love the colour; it starts a deep purple and lightens as the flowers further down the racemes open.

First flowers opening

The rich purple flowers just beginning to open

I adored the sweet scent. However, it often drops unopened flower buds, especially during BBQs! It has never been covered in flowers… until this year. This year it is glorious.

The glorious Wisteria floribunda 'Violacea Plena'

The glorious waterfall-like racemes of Wisteria floribunda ‘Violacea Plena’

I don’t know whether it is just a good year all round or whether my heavy pruning last August triggered the bounty, but we are enjoying it as much as we can. The hail today (~1cm balls) has knocked some blossom off, but there is still a bit to go until the final flowers at the end of the long racemes open.

Next hail storm approaching

Next hail storm approaching

Now finally we can sit at the table with our mugs of tea admiring the scent and the view and pretend we are on holiday in warmer climes.

About Frogend_dweller

Living in the damp middle of nowhere
This entry was posted in The home garden and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Wisteria Waterfall – Partially Controlled Chaos

  1. Julie says:

    Your Wisteria is gorgeous, I can imagine that to be a fantastic place to sit with a cup of tea. What a lovely garden you have too, what have you made your spirals from, they look wonderfully clipped.

  2. I honestly did not think it was possible for a wisteria to die (because I spent years trying to accomplish just that feat in my last garden – but the wisteria won — and so was chagrined to find one already planted here at the Money Pit). But I do admire all wisterias that live somewhere other than a garden of mine. 🙂

  3. Fabulous wisteria! Reminds me of the bridge at Giverny, except that it’s a pergola. What a wonderful spot to sit and enjoy the garden.

  4. Christina says:

    I adore wisteria but I am surprised you had to give yours so much tlc. I planted one once on almost pure sand and it thrived. I’m sure your pruning is what induced the wonderful flowers. Wisteria need to be pruned in August and then again in winter.

    • I don’t understand why it was so hard to grow either, but it looks indestructible now. I prune it in August every year (not as much when it is dormant), but I was definitely heavy-handed last year

  5. Robbie says:

    Your Garden is dreamy!!! You created a great vista + oh my, that dining area is a place, I could eat all my meals!

Leave a Reply

