Wordless Wednesday – 09/09/2015 – A Cinnamon Bug’s Life

bug1e

What a surprise! Who are you?

bug2

I’m a hairy, scentless member of the Rhopalidae family. See my spots and antennae.

bug3_Corizus hyoscyami

In fact I am a Corizus hyoscyami, but you can call me a Cinnamon bug. Don’t I look marvellous?

bug2b

I’m relatively rare in the UK, but becoming more common, especially in the south. Oh, and I eat plants!

About Frogend_dweller

Living in the damp middle of nowhere
This entry was posted in Nature, The home garden, Whimsy, Wordless and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Wordless Wednesday – 09/09/2015 – A Cinnamon Bug’s Life

  1. BunKaryudo says:

    That’s a pretty little insect.

  2. Julie says:

    Lovely photos of a rather handsome insect, guessing he is marked like that to deter predators, shame he finds plants tasty though.

    • It’s a very arresting pattern and there is no mistaking him for something tasty. Not sure how destuctive They are. They seem to be a fairly recent arrival (2007 I think) to the south coast of England.

  3. Great photos as always, and your interlocuton made me smile. Thank you!

  4. Looks a bit like the milkweed bugs we have over here, though more articulate.

  5. Gillian says:

    This is brilliant. I’ve never seen one of these but now I will know what it is when they finally arrive in Lancashire.

Leave a Reply

