A resurgence of flowers

I can’t quite get over this mild weather we are having and it is beginning to play havoc with my bulb planting plan, since I am loathed to tear out beautiful annuals or chop back flowers in order to make the space to do it. Winter will be long enough as it is, especially if the consequences of this year’s strong El Niño prove true, so for the next week or two I am prepared to continue to deadhead and tidy.

One such enchanting annual is Hibiscus trionum. The plants are looking as fresh as when they started to flower,

bestnow1but now have the advantage of being much larger and more prolific. I love the buttery cream colour of their petals, the elegant oak-like leaves and how easy it is to grow. This annual manages to look as deliciously exotic as the perennial shrubby examples from hotter climes, but grows readily in the UK. It is hard to resist peering deep into the flowers to check out the amazing stigma. They look like little sea anemones waving around to catch the pollen.

bestnow6a

At the core of a hibiscus trionum flower

Next up is echinacea. Having paused for a while, the echinacea is now flowering its little heart out again. It looks especially pretty with fog droplets on its florets.

bestnow2

Unfurling Echinacea purpurea in November

The lateness of the season and weather seem to be affecting it colouring though, in interesting and attractive ways.

bestnow7

Earlier in the year this plant was opening normal purple flowers

The weather is doing crazy things to the fruit trees in the garden too. I have odd instances of new blossom on the apple trees and medlars in flower.

Elsewhere there is a pleasant slide into winter dormancy. The strappy leaves of agapanthus are turning a wonderful amber colour that seem to radiate warmth in the low light levels.

bestnow3

Cerinthe major makes a lovely contrast with the turning leaves of Agapanthus

Waiting in the wings for a coating of frost or (dare I say it) snow, unless the damp rots them first, are some lovely seed heads, including echinacea, asphodeline, monarda and rudbeckia. The seed heads of monarda were made for such a glittery coating and look so formal, like minaturized topiary trees:

bestnow5

I thought I would end with a flower that is no stranger to late autumn flowering, namely Chrysanthemum. I must admit to not being a big chrysanthemum fan, but I have a soft spot for ‘Emperor of China’. It typically flowers in November, so quite often the flowers are weathered and battered even as they open. However, this year they are looking particularly beautiful. Their leaves have had the time to turn a deep red and make a perfect foil for the silvery pink flowers.

eocc1

Chrysanthemum ‘Emperor of China’ showing its quilled petals as it opens

The buds start as a strong pink colour, but as the petals unfurl the outer rings are paler and often quilled.

eocc2

‘Emperor of China’ against a backdrop of leaves turning a deep red.

eocc4

Converted yet? I have been.

This is just a small selection of the flowers looking good in the borders now. I am joining in with Gillian of Country Garden UK’s weekly Looking Good meme. If you follow the link you will see some gorgeous picture of Ginkgo and highlights from other bloggers.

What has caught your eye recently?

 

 

About Frogend_dweller

Living in the damp middle of nowhere
This entry was posted in Nature, Plants and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A resurgence of flowers

  1. Our weather is also freakishly mild, even warm. No frost yet, and it’s three weeks later than average. I love that Hibiscus, I have never seen it on this side of the Atlantic.

    • No sign of frost here yet either. Maybe the hibiscus is just a bit overlooked. It is very easy to grow. I am not familar with many american seed companies, but I did see it on a canadian website.

  2. Gillian says:

    What beautiful flowers. I need no converting! Chrysanthemums in the garden are all lovely to me. I really must grow more. This pink one looks quite delicate and especially lovely with the red foliage and fog droplets. Gorgeous photos, thanks for sharing them with us.

    • I’ve bought a couple of Sarah Raven chrysanthemum collections in the past, which I quite liked, but mostly I leave them alone. I think it is largely the smell I don’t like. Thanks for hosting!

  3. Julie says:

    Beautiful photographs, and lovely, lovely detail, I would like everything please!

  4. Eliza Waters says:

    Ooh, such a delicious post! Your photos make me want to just jump into them! You definitely sold me on ‘Empress of China’ – it is a beauty.

  5. Gorgeous images, thank you, you have a great eye for exquisite details. I wonder if the mild nighttime temperatures have something to answer for? It’s confusing for the gardener as well as the plants.

  6. Gorgeous photos!

    We too have had a week of wonderfully ridiculous warm weather… in fact broke a record yesterday with 75 degrees (the prior record being 74, set way back in the 1940s)!

Leave a Reply

