Lazy, hazy bluebell days

This weekend has been just lovely, with icy starts but sun all day long (I’ve seen people with sunburn already!). I am feeling quite positive and cheerful, so I thought that I would simply share some pretty pictures of native english bluebells, Hyacinthoides non-scripta, taken on a walk last weekend. Last weekend, you might remember, the weather was a rather different, undecided affair. Nevertheless we braved intermittent hail showers to head for our local bluebell woods.

blue10

True to form, as we walked along the Harcamlow Way to Eversden woods, we were assaulted by wind and ice. Luckily, by the time we reached the protection of the nearest corner of the woods, the worst was over and the sun broke through for a while.

So enjoy a little trip through the bluebells:

blue6

Bluebells are typically a species of deciduous woodland, growing and flowering before the canopy closes overhead.

blue3

They have flowers that hang to one side of a nodding raceme

 

blue11

The woodland floor is a mixed carpet of wood anemone, bluebells, celandines and dogs mercury (an indicator of the slightly alkaline condition of the soil)

blue1

There are some nice surprises too, like this oxlip

blue7

The flowers are sweetly scented and have creamy-white pollen (spanish bluebells have blue)

blue5

It is always muddy, but this year the paths were particularly bad

blue9

and the display is particularly good,  with a blue haze in every direction

blue8

Bluebells are also known as ‘fairy flowers’ (for somewhat nefarious reasons. Watch out for your kids!)

About Frogend_dweller

Living in the damp middle of nowhere
This entry was posted in Flowers, Spring, Walks, Wildflowers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Lazy, hazy bluebell days

  1. Eliza Waters says:

    I love these photos, definitely a fairyland. I have to see this in person one day!

  2. Beautiful way to spend a sunny day 🙂

  3. Tina says:

    Truly lovely–can I come over and enjoy those beauties? 🙂

  4. Julie says:

    Gorgeous photos Allison, by the light it looks as if you are an early bird. Your first photo is like a painting, really lovely.

    • Thanks Julie. In fact these photos were taken mid afternoon, but the light was very changeable with the storm clouds flickering over the sun. I do love the quality of the light first thing though, so I should try harder next year!

  5. What an enchanting wood. The dappled light on the bluebells is so beautiful. Looks like bluebells are the plant of the moment!

    • They are certainly worth enjoying while they are at their best. I’ve really enjoyed seeing everyone’s pictures and stories of bluebells. I love woods at this time of year, before they get too overcast and gloomy.

  6. Christina says:

    I love bluebells. I’m so glad we were able to see some this year.

  7. Chloris says:

    Beautiful photos Allison. There is nothing like walking in ancient bluebell woods in spring. And you even found an oxlip, what a treat.

    • I agree that there is nothing better. Eversden woods are quite a small scale display, but they do fill that longing every year. Next year I am determined to go to visit Ashridge Estate as the photos I have seen of that are phenomenal.

  8. Robbie says:

    Oh so lovely-enjoyed all your photos + boy can I relate to spring mud! I love spring, but the mud always makes my garden a mess and me too:-)

    • That was the best thing about our bluebell walk: the whole family was in stitches most of the time laughing at the others mud adventures. Great for all our spirits.

      • Robbie says:

        I finally got some great rubber shoes that I just wash off, so not minding the mud this year-lol-years before my gym shoes were not good in the mud!

Leave a Reply

