Orange is not the only tulip …

os_sm

Orange tulips here include: T. ‘Ballerina’, T. ‘Princess Irene’, T. ‘Sunlover’, T. linifolia ‘Bright Gem’, T. ‘Orange Princess’, T. clusiana ‘Cynthia’

Not even in my garden, although it might look like it from this collage. The funny thing is that a few years ago I wouldn’t have had a single one of these (except maybe Ballerina). I was going through a long term pastel colour phase. Not any more. Life is too short. Let’s fill it with joy, passion and love.

About Frogend_dweller

Living in the damp middle of nowhere
This entry was posted in Flowers, Nature, Plants, Spring, The home garden, Whimsy and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Orange is not the only tulip …

  1. Yes I am relatively new to orange flowering plants and now can’t live without them. In fact I had to pick bright pink tulips for the house last weekend because they looked so unsubtle in the garden.

  2. Tina says:

    Orange is bright and cheery. Like you, I once didn’t plant with orange, but have come to appreciate its joy.

  3. I have grown to appreciate orange, in the garden it exudes a welcoming, cheery warmth even on an overcast day. What a fabulous collage!

  4. Eliza Waters says:

    It is funny you should say that – the past few years I, too, have been drawn to bright colors of red, coral and orange. The problem is that they clash horribly with the pink in the my garden. Oh, well, Mexican colors! Viva los colores!

  5. Christina says:

    Great selection of tulips, the collage is excellent.

  6. Sam says:

    I love orange tulips and have a few different varieties. Not nearly as many as you though!

  7. Julie says:

    I love Orange, especially in early May the colour works brilliantly with emerging foliage of all shades. I only grow Ballerina though and need to be more adventurous! Lovely collage.

    • Thanks. I decided that orange works particularly well at this time of year with the early (and late) sunlight. Ballerina is such a classic, I’d still pick it as the best because it lasts so long and I love the fluted petals. I discovered that the doubles don’t get on with rain very well when they are fully open.

Leave a Reply

