In a Vase on Monday – The Meadow

Walking the dog across the fields this morning, I noticed that as she ran she was puffing up clouds of pollen from the grasses. That made me look around the meadow more carefully and I could see that, not only has the height increased dramatically in the last two weeks (this means that I get drenched to thigh level every time that I walk after it rains ), but many of the grasses are putting up flowering spikes.

mead1

Many are in full bloom and whilst the flowers may be tiny, they are surprisingly colourful, for green grass.

mead6

So I found myself collecting some stalks together for comparison and ended up with a bunch that looked so pleasing that I bought them home and have put them in a vase to admire. It is probably a good thing that I don’t seem to be allergic to grasses!

So here is a piece of the meadow as it is today, in a vase:

mead5

The arrangement to composed almost entirely of grasses, but cow parsley is so prevalent in the countryside just now that a little has been included too, plus a bit of common vetch which is also twining through the sward.

mead4

I did think of IDing the different types grasses in the vase and I have Roger Philips book on Grasses, but I haven’t had the time. Sorry about that.

I think that the dangling anthers are the prettiest bit. They are  very delicate and dance in the wind. Unfortunately, a lot fell off on the walk back and when I arranged the the bunch in the vase.

mead2

With the vase on the outside table, it has been fun watching the arrangement flutter in the breeze. It is very dynamic, just like the meadow itself.

mead3

I am linking up with Cathy at Rambling in the Garden for her ‘In a Vase on Monday’ gathering. If you check out today’s offerings, there are some gloriously lush and summery looking flowers to admire and some rather lovely vases too!

 

About Frogend_dweller

Living in the damp middle of nowhere
This entry was posted in Flowers, Nature, Wildflowers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to In a Vase on Monday – The Meadow

  1. Wow, stunning close ups of tricky details. The way you’ve arranged them so carefully sets them off beautifully.

  2. I have been noticing my meadow growing too….what a beautiful array of plant material you gathered to make this lovely vase!

    • Grasses are so mobile aren’t they? They add lightness and motion to any display. This morning I was watching the wind ripple waves in the meadow as it moved across it. Brilliant!

  3. That second photo is so scrumptious, I feel like painting it. If I had another life I think studying all the grasses of the world would be a fabulous thing to do – discovering all their colours, uses and how they colonise amazing places would keep me happy for ever. I really do LOVE your vase!

  4. pbmgarden says:

    Your grasses make a great vase. I like the photos of the materials grouped together too.

    • Thank you. Today I have a little ring of pollen at the base of the vase. It is no wonder that the dog put clouds of it up. The laid out materials is probably due to the scientist in me. I almost used graph paper as a backdrop to provide a scale!

  5. Cathy says:

    What a great idea Allison – as Susie says, it was most intriguing to see the different grasses laid out like that as well. It really makes you think about looking more closely when walk by or through a meadow – although not good for hay fever sufferers,as you said, as the pollen count is meant to have been very high recently. Thanks for sharing

  6. Sam says:

    This is a fabulous vase. I’m a huge fan of grasses. They’re much underrated. Lovely.

    • Thanks Sam. When the garden-worthy grasses come into flower/seed I’ll definitely be using them regularly, but I was surprised at how lovely even the thuggish meadow varieties were close too.

  7. Tina says:

    Such a beautiful choice for this meme. Gasses are just so gorgeous and not nearly utilized enough–whether in a garden or a vase. Nice job!

    • I love the variety available and their interaction with the wind and weather. Probably my favourite shapes are the oat-like ones. I am trying Chasmanthium latifolia this year for the first time, after seeing it on a few blogs last year.

  8. inesephoto says:

    I love the grasses and always include them in a bouquet if I have a chance. Aren’t they pretty?

  9. Eliza Waters says:

    Another thing we have in common – I adore blooming grasses, too. 🙂 This is something I would be apt to do, gathering up the variety to compare and admire. It is a wonderful thing to love the small gifts of nature!

  10. Christina says:

    Great idea! It is astonishing the variety of grasses there are. I like the image if the grasses laid out by type.

    • Thanks Christina. The details and differences seem to be more obvious when you lay things out systematically don’t they? There’s one grass I collected from the wood on the way back and I think that it stands out in the line up (second from right).

  11. I’m glad you took a closer look at that meadow. What variety in grasses you have!

  12. Yes and the fluffy, plumed ones haven’t even started their show yet. Grasses are so interesting. Strangely, the only one that I have flowering in the garden at the moment is Briza maxima (quaking grass).

  13. Cathy says:

    An excellent way to capture the essence of the meadow and to look at the individual elements that make it too. I picked a huge bunch of grasses one summer about 5 or 6 years ago and still have them on my mantlepiece in a vase. 🙂

  14. Reets says:

    Lovely photos and a nice idea – some buttercups would look good in there too. From left to right they look like false oat grass, meadow foxtail, a bent (can’t tell which one from the photo!), soft brome, wood melick and cocksfoot. Might save you some time in checking out the identification!

    • Thanks, in fact on the next walk I picked a huge bunch of buttercups and cow parsley and they look glowing. Thanks for the IDs too. I knew the cocksfoot, but was vague about the rest.

Leave a Reply

