In a vase on Monday – Berries and bees

To join in with Cathy’s In a vase on Monday post today I have been inspired by the cover of the hot-off-the-press seed catalogue from D.T. Brown, because there is something deeply satisfying about those soft fruit and berry colours.

vas1

The attraction is the soft bloom on fruits like blueberries and partly the shiny, light catching globes of blackberries, but also the glowing translucence of the fat juicy bodies of stawberries and raspberries. Yummy.

It turns out that there are quite alot of plants in flower now evoking this fruity look and many of them are brilliant for bees. For instance, it is hard to pick any Caryopteris without bringing a bumblebee along with it, the same is true for the verbena, sedum and penstemon …

vas3

Even the salvia uliginosa nearly comes with its own bees. Here’s a great example of what I mean, pre-picking:

vas2

Honey bee curled up in a salvia uliginosa flower

I’ve combined these flowers with foliage that has a ‘bloom’ feel about them. There’s a variegated cornus, some tree spinach and the flowering ends of persicaria ‘Red dragon’.

vas4

Frilled around the bottom are some short stalks of sweetpea ‘Twilight’. They are getting shorter every week as they exhaust themselves!

vas5.jpg

So here’s to bee fruit salad. Enjoy!

 

About Frogend_dweller

Living in the damp middle of nowhere
This entry was posted in Flowers, Plants and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to In a vase on Monday – Berries and bees

  1. [ Smiles ] Beautiful plants!

  2. Eliza Waters says:

    Bee fruit salad – love it! 🙂

  3. Cathy says:

    I know what you mean about the catalogue! I am really missing my red and blackcurrants and gooseberries as I replaced the bushes two years ago and the new ones are not fruiting yet 😦 Your vase looked so familiar, as I could almost have recreated it from my garden although I don’t have any variegated cornus or that salvia. Is tree spinach another name for red orache, or is it something else? Are you growing Twilight as part of the Which? trial? Thanks for sharing

    • I am in the same situation with fruit bushes and I didn’t realise how much I would miss them, but they needed to be moved. The tree spinach isn’t red orache (although I have that as well and in fact am removing it this week before too many seeds fall), it is Chenopodium giganteum and is more like fat hen. It is ~7ft tall and is supposed to be full of minerals! I didn’t know about the trial for ‘Twilight’. I just liked the look of the seeds.

  4. With the arrangement you and the bees should both be happy. I think the Varigated Cornus sets everything off perfectly.

  5. pbmgarden says:

    Beautiful use of those rich berry colors. The cornus was an inspired choice too.

  6. Chloris says:

    A lovely colour scheme. Have you been watering your cornus? Mine are suffering terribly from the drought.

  7. Sam says:

    Lovely colours and forms. I love that shot of the bee in flower! It’s great that the insects are having this extended summery weather to feast before it gets colder.

  8. I love your colour combinations. Great photographs. I am inspired!

  9. Cathy says:

    Delicious! 😉 That bee looks like he has fallen asleep, blissfully exhausted from collecting pollen! Great photos! 🙂

  10. The salvia makes a very useful bee hammock! Wouldn’t it be nice to curl up in a flower and go to sleep?

  11. Kris P says:

    I love the fruity color mix and I’m very impressed with the bee photo. On 2 separate occasions this week I’ve followed a fat bumble bee, trying to get a decent shot. I probably took a dozen photos, all of them blurry. Part of the difficulty was that the bee chose the slenderest stems, which bounced with every landing.

    • I know what you mean, because there was a breeze causing quite a lot of motion. I didn’t know I had a decent shot until I got home. I love digital cameras so that you can try and try again!

  12. I love that picture of the bee sleeping in the Salvia. Lovely arrangements.

  13. Robbie says:

    love the curled up bee + all the lovely flowers! I pet my sleeping bumble bees-LOL, yep, I consider them my special pet bees!

Leave a Reply

