In a Vase on Monday – Beans

I’ve been picking drying beans for the last few days and shucking them to store as they get nice and crunchy. It’s a therapeutic task for a while, but then gets tedious, so I do them in batches. I love how shiny they are, straight out of the pods (except of the black runner beans which seem to need a quick rub before they twinkle).

vas6

Shiny!

I find their variations marvellous and I can’t seem to stop myself arranging them into patterns and pictures.

vase1

So I began to think that I might layer them in a glass vase, like those test-tubes that you pay to fill with the multi-colour sands at Alum Bay on the Isle of Wight.

vas1

I think that they look quite fetching.

So which beans did I grow this year? At the bottom of the vase there are runners (Painted Lady), then a purple climbing bean (Trionfo Voiletto), next a heritage climbing bean (Blue and White), followed by another climber ‘Cherokee Trail of Tears’:vas2

And in the top half (from bottom up again) there’s a dwarf french bean ‘Yin Yang’ or ‘Orca’, underneath a white butterbean called ‘Czar’, then on top of that there’s a pea bean from Garden Organic, topped up with a black runner bean breed by Dick Sanders (a lecturer at College of West Anglia).

vas3

I like them all, but am pleased with my first time crop of heritage pea beans, which are two-tone: a beautiful blood red and cream colour. They look similar to some of the cowpeas I’ve been thinking of trying on the Baker Creek Heirloom Seed website.

vas5

So that is our vase for the week. I wonder how long  I can resist shaking them.

I am joining in with Cathy’s ‘In a Vase on Monday’ and I hope that a vase of beans isn’t too far off the reservation. Take a look at her lovely autumnal vase and check out the links to other contributions in the comments section.

 

About Frogend_dweller

Living in the damp middle of nowhere
This entry was posted in Food, Nature, The home garden, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to In a Vase on Monday – Beans

  1. Chloris says:

    How original. I love freshly podded beans too. I grow borlotti beans simply because they look so pretty. What a lovely idea layering them in a glass container so you can enjoy looking at them as well as eating them.

    • I usually grow borlotti too, also largely for their beauty while they grow. I think I must have overlooked them this year in my zeal to grow some new things. I love the look of layered produce in jars. One Christmas we were given a glass container filled with layers of brightly coloured pickled chillis. We never ate them, though the jar did decorate the mantlepiece for two or three years!

  2. Sam says:

    These look lovely – great idea. I haven’t grown any beans this year as we were away for a while. Maybe next year 🙂

    • I find beans really rewarding, but definitely difficult to grow if you hop off to the States! I always mean to dig one of those compost trenches in advance of planting the beans, to help them grow stong and preserve moisture, but I never remember in time.

  3. Cathy says:

    My goodness – I am amazed at the range of beans you have grown (and presumably successfully) – aren’t they beautiful? And what an original idea for a vase – SO effective, although somehow they look as if they are chocolate covered nuts and raisins…mmm! Thanks for sharing

  4. Creative and lovely display in contrasting legumes. I want to cook some beans now.

  5. Gillian says:

    Beautiful Beans! Isn’t nature amazing?

  6. Eliza Waters says:

    I love this! Best vase this week in the originality category! 😉 I grew orca beans this year – only four plants survived, but it was enough to fill a jar. I love looking at them. 🙂

  7. Cathy says:

    What a novel idea for a vase! I can quite understand the fascination after seeing them displayed like this. 🙂

  8. What fun! I like those black and white ones the best.

  9. What a fabulous collection of beans, polished or not, they look so beautiful in the canisters. If I had such a wonderful range I’d spend time making patterns with them too.

Leave a Reply

