In a Vase on Monday – Seaside metaphors

I’ve been doing lots of activities firmly focussed on autumn: jam making, blackberrying, seed and leaf collecting, grass scarifying and I found myself wistfully thinking back to the summer that never really seemed to completely happen. So now I have a fancy for a seaside trip, for the light and the air, but I am not sure when that will be possible and therefore I’ve resorted to symbolic flowers in today’s vase.

vas1

First there is the sunshine: represented appropriately by Jerusalem artichoke – a sun look-alike and sun-follower.

vas3

Then there are the choppy waves, the slight danger of strong currents and a bit of sea foam, expressed here by some monkshood, salvia uliginosa and feverfew. There’s a bit of scented white nemesia too for its seaside candyfloss smell.

vas2

Then there are the fluff clouds, portrayed by some white roses. They have a nice gentle scent too, but as they came with the house I don’t know what kind they are.

vas4

Displaying the arrangement in the pebble garden seemed like a good idea, but although the whole thing does remind me of the seaside,  it also looks a bit washed out against the stones.

vas5

So I moved the vase to the bench on the hill to catch the mellow light from a setting sun.

vas6

I think that rounds out the colours and you can better see the effect of the fillers: evening primrose, verbena bonariensis, salvia farinacea ‘Victoria blue’ and persicaria ‘Red dragon’. Overall it feels fairly summery I think and there’s still plenty of time left to cover autumn themes.

Thanks to Cathy at Rambling in the Garden for hosting In a Vase on Monday. Please do follow the link to see her alliterative vase , plus other contributions for today.

About Frogend_dweller

Living in the damp middle of nowhere
This entry was posted in Flowers and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to In a Vase on Monday – Seaside metaphors

  1. Sam says:

    This is a lovely idea for building a vase of flowers. Very summery and seaside-y.

  2. Eliza Waters says:

    Brilliantly executed theme, Allison. It is beautiful and makes me wistful for a day at the beach. 🙂

  3. Cathy says:

    I enjoyed the way you put this together Allison – and I liked the effect of it on the pebbles too, as the ‘washed out’ look as you call it made it seem like a baking hot day 🙂 Does your aconitum usually flower at this ime of year? Mine are much earlier. The J artichoke flowers are amazing and yet I don’t at all recall having flowers when I used to grow them, but that’s no doubt a memory thing! Thanks for sharing today , and hurrah for summer vases in autumn!

    • Ah the aconitum is in an odd situation. It is growing in a pot in the greenhouse, because I couldn’t decide whether I could safely use the plant it in the garden (I am a bit careless and don’t often use gloves, plus I am not the only person who might need to handle it). For the last two years it has flowered about now though. The Jersalem artichoke, doesn’t get to flower every year here, only if the warm weather continues for long enough in the autumn.

      • Cathy says:

        Hmm, that’s an interesting way of looking at it – it’s hard to know just how careful we should be if plants like aconitum

  4. Kris P says:

    It’s a beautiful – and cheerful – composition. I love those Jerusalem artichoke flowers!

  5. Cathy says:

    I thought the pebble effect lovely too – although the second position makes the vase look more autumnal and brighter. There are Jerusalem artichokes in so many gardens around me at the moment. I enjoy so much as I go past, although I’m nervous of planting them … but they take some beating for a splash of sunshine!

    • I love it when artichokes take over from perennial helianthus in providing late season sunshine. Luckily mine don’t spread too much at all, I think that is because they are in a patch of v. heavy clay.

  6. Cathy says:

    You are right – with so many summery flowers left we shouldn’t feel compelled to stick to an autumn theme yet. I love the picture against the pebbles, really capturing the mood. What you see as ‘washed out’ is just the strong seaside sunshine reflected from the sea burning down on them! 😉

  7. Chloris says:

    A lovely bouquet with colours reminiscent of the seaside. I would love to see more of your pebble garden.

    • Thanks Liz. Maybe ‘pebble garden’ was overstating things. It is a transition area really, but actually my favourite place to sit in the whole garden. I’ll see if I can put an angle together for a post on it.

  8. It’s interesting to see how the background changes the mood of the vase, I agree that the imagery of the pebbles is perfect for a longed for summer’s day on the beach.

    • Yes, I was surprised at how much and in fact, under the kitchen lighting, the feel of the vase changes again. If I’d managed to pick the flowers earlier, when the sun was still on the pebbles, it would have been a different story I think.

  9. I love the pebbles, it made me visualize a seaside planting instead of a vase. Blue and yellow is one of my favorite color schemes. The white roses look like Iceberg to me.

  10. Nice. I like the Sunflower/Jerusalem Artichoke.

Leave a Reply

