In a Vase on Monday – Budding Performers

iavom5

Soft and delightful: emerging pussy willow

Another day, another dog walk. Well, it has been grey and foggy of late so it feels more like another dog trudge actually. I was pounding the mud, downcast and gloomy, until I spotted this willow emerging in the newly established Diamond Jubilee Wood near our village. So I detoured along the river and found several examples of pussy willow in all their furry glory and I just had to pick a few spurs for a vase or, more accurately, for petting (who can resist?).

iavom3

I also noticed that some of the local hazel already has loosen, daggling catkins blowing in the wind. Spring is beginning to feel quite close at hand! I gathered some catkins too. And then some prunus too, because it has beautiful dark bark (and leaves) and tight, pale pink swelling buds that make a good contrast to the pussy willow.

iavom4

As of last week I also have some pristine snowdrops in the garden so I picked a handful of those …

iavom1

and added them to the bunch. Then I made a collar of wonderfully marbled cyclamen leaves around the top of the jar.

iavom2

Now I have a preview of spring in my kitchen and I am feeling much happier.

So I am able to join in with Cathy’s In a Vase on Monday meme, since I now have some flowers in the garden and buds in the hedgerow (but no prop, sorry Cathy).

Do take a look at Cathy’s delicious post … which has got me reaching for a seville orange curd recipe card that I picked up at the grocery store a couple of weeks ago. Hope that you’ll be inspired too.

About Frogend_dweller

Living in the damp middle of nowhere
This entry was posted in Spring, Walks, Wildflowers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to In a Vase on Monday – Budding Performers

  1. What an interesting vase, I like the contrast in shapes, colours and textures. I used to buy pussy willow stems from the flower markets in Bangkok, it always made me long for cool, grey winter days in England. It produces roots and leafs up well if kept in water.

    • Thanks Kate. The buds on the cherry are swelling fast now, changing the shape of the arrangement. Bought pussy willow stems alway look so long and elegant, I can see why they would be even more desirable when you are on the other side of the world. Funnily enough I miss being able to buy bunches of mimosa easily from the market. They remind me of living on La Palma.

  2. Brian Skeys says:

    It is easy to over look the trees as harbingers of spring. They have provided you with the ingredients for a lovely spring vase.

  3. Eliza Waters says:

    Looks like spring is upon you. Love the pussy toes!

  4. Cathy says:

    That is a lovely vase of late winter/early spring treasures! Makes me hopeful that spring will arrive soon too. This meme really does raise our spirits, doesn’t it!

  5. What a productive dog walk! I adore pussy willow (my brother even named one of our cats Pussywillow when we were small) but I’ve never grown it, believing that it isn’t adapted to my area; however, after consulting my go-to garden guide, I learned that there are at least 2 species that could grow here, given enough water. There’s always a rub.

    • Ah yes, catkins are so attractive and there’s nothing else quite like them, but the trees are often quite thuggish and dull the rest of the year. These were growing beside a river and the newly planted trees are on a flood plain.

  6. Cathy says:

    Oh what a lovely collection of harbingers – no pussy willow here, but I would take any opportunity to pet some when I come across it 😉 Strangely even though am aware of the catkis on our contorted hazel, I don’t notice them on our millions (well, not quite, but it easily coud be) of ordinary hazels – probably above my head? Must have a look tomorrow. I nearly used cycalemn leaves in mine today but decided that even the smallest ones were too big – they work well in yu vase though. Now, having tried making orange curd and rejecting it, making it from Seville oranges might be completely different – so do let me know how you get on.

    • You are right that catkins on contorted hazel are more noticeable than on the ordinary kind, which I suppose is due to their straight lines contrasting with the twists. My neighbour’s tree looks a bit like a laburnum though this year, with cascades of catkins. Might be the recent mild weather?

  7. Nice spring bouquet 😉 Well done

  8. Tina says:

    That’s really beautiful!

  9. I love your capture of the water on the pussy willow. A lovely Spring vase full

  10. Chloris says:

    A lovely spring arrangement. Who can resist pussy willow? It is so tactile.

  11. How cheering to have these signs of spring in your kitchen and how lovely to watch the blossom open. A lovely vase.

Leave a Reply

