Wordless Wednesday – Supper, one (snow)drop at a time

sb1

Honey bee on a snowdrop in early February

sb2

My earliest clump of snowdrops …

sb3

… satisfyingly busy with bees

About Frogend_dweller

Living in the damp middle of nowhere
This entry was posted in Bees, Flowers, Nature, Wordless and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Wordless Wednesday – Supper, one (snow)drop at a time

  1. Julie says:

    Allison, great spot – I saw my first honey bee yesterday, but was too slow to take a photo. And highlights the importance of early nectar sources for Bees and other insects.

  2. Tina says:

    Love the photos. I’ve never grown snowdrops successfully, but they pop up here too–in other folks’ gardens. However, I do grow bees…:)

  3. Oh how marvellous and what great pics. I just about heard a lonesome bee for the first time today, even so, it’s a sound that at this time of year always makes my heart skip a hopeful beat.

  4. Brian Skeys says:

    I love to see Bees working, they were busy on the Mahonia yesterday in the sunshine.

  5. hoehoegrow says:

    Lovely photos – especially love the bee close ups! Must be nearly spring if the bees are a-buzzin’! I was reading that the temperature has to be above 10 degrees for them to be active.

    • Thanks Jane. Last week’s temperatures were in double figures here, so that makes sense. We are back to hovering around freezing again now though, so I doubt that I will be seeing any this week.

Leave a Reply

