In a Vase on Monday – Fresh scents of spring

Walking around the village this afternoon I was very happy to see colour blossoming in the lawns everywhere. Mostly this is coming from scattered crocuses in smart yellows and shades of purple, spilling down driveways and planted round community seats and trees. Along the wall in front of the village hall there are actually daffodils out and under hedges there are violets pushing through the ivy. So my posy today is a simple reflection of the wake-up vibe reverberating through the earth now. Spring is knocking …

posy1

When I knelt to pick some primroses I registered that I could smell them, a lovely light floral scent. It’s one of the reasons why it is so nice to bring them indoors in close quarters.

posy2

Stinking hellebore, Helleborus foetidus, fortunately doesn’t smell unless crushed, but offers wonderfully rigid crinoline bells with pink trimming.

posy4

I am continuing to make the most of snowdrops while they are still around and today, with the temperature soaring to 15 deg C, they were all fully extended like parasols rather than drops.

posy3

I have violets creeping around under the front hedge and sadly I rarely notice them, so it is nice to pick a few stalks for a vase and take the opportunity to smell them too. I love their elusive scent, but have I never understood the attraction of eating those Palma violet sweets that taste like a concentrated version of it.

posy5

So that is today’s posy for my desk, full of fresh things and scents. I’ve used a small ceramic ink pot to contain the flowers. It is a nice chunky shape and earthy colour.

I am joining in with Cathy’s IAVOM meme.  I suggest that you take a look at the other contributions to this joyful weekly challenge, starting with Cathy’s beautifully staged masterpiece.

 

About Frogend_dweller

Living in the damp middle of nowhere
This entry was posted in Flowers, Wildflowers and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to In a Vase on Monday – Fresh scents of spring

  1. I love violets. They pop up everywhere in my shady garden. Did you know the beautiful Empress Josephine had her wedding dress embroidered with them?

  2. Cathy says:

    Oh this is my style of vase Allison – love it! Great photographs too. I have lots of violet leaves but rarely any violets – not sure if they are the same variety as yours.

    • Thanks Cathy. My violets were inherited and seem to appear all over the village and down the alleys, so they are probably just straightforward wild violets. They do smell delicious though.

      • Cathy says:

        I shall have to get down on my knees and smell mine the next time they produce flowers – no sign of any buds now so I wonder if they are a different violet altogether…?

  3. Eliza Waters says:

    I LOVE this miniature arrangement, Allison – it’s beautiful and charming!

  4. Kris P says:

    That’s a very pretty posy! I love the color mix and you did a masterful job of photographing them from the best possible angles.

  5. Christina says:

    The delicate spring flowers are such a treat. Beautifully photographed.

  6. Oh, how delightful to see so many tiny harbingers of spring in one pretty posy. Beautifully photographed, as always Allison.

    • Thanks Kate. There’s a real sense of renewal in the air now and I noticed that the elder leaves are breaking open and some hedgerow plums are starting to flower. Primroses and violets seem to sum up that change.

  7. Brian Skeys says:

    A beautiful small vase, we have violets in the garden, both the ordinary and the dark leaved form. They are such delightful little flowers.

  8. Cathy says:

    Very pretty. Spring is definitely in the air! I love those violet sweets, but mostly I can’t smell violets or if I do I find them unpleasant…. 😉

  9. Just beautiful! I love the combination of violets, snowdrops,and primrose.

Leave a Reply

