In a Vase on Monday – Amethyst and Turquoise

vas1

I love seeing blues appear in the spring flowers: the scilla, hyacinth, pulmonaria and anemone, but when I went to look for some to pick I found that I’ve only flirted with the true blues in the garden. My bunch of flowers in today’s vase for Cathy’s IOVAM meme is therefore more amethyst and turquoise in tone.

vas2

I’ve cut some freshly emerged Persicaria ‘Red Dragon’ for dark foliage, before the frosts hit it this week. Euphorbia ‘Chameleon’ is unfurling in heavy plum colours, having seeded all around, so a few shoots of those have been added too. They are nice with the flowering currant, which I can never get fully behind but grow mainly for the bees.

vas3

Our grape hyacinth ‘Valerie Finnis’ is just beginning to flower in pots and they are gentler on the eye than the cobalt blue more common type, so I’ve collected a few of those too.

vas4

A hellebore (self-seed) hangs over the vase like a lady’s parasol. I don’t have that many hellebores in fact so I rarely pick any, but today I  purchase two new Harvington speckled types: one yellow and one pink, so in future things maybe more interesting.

vas5

With the recent warmer weather  Erysimum ‘Bowles’s mauve’ is just coming into its stride (although it has flowered all winter long).

vas6

I’ve been cutting down dogwood over the last two weeks, but in places it was already quite advanced into leaf, so for foliage I’ve used a little bit of that in the mix and a branch of tree heather ‘Alberts Gold’. It has been raining heavily this afternoon, so many flowers were closed or battered by the time I came to gather the blooms together. These flowers are therefore ‘sturdy’ examples. Fortunately, the sun came out for the last of the photos and that has lifted the colours somewhat … even as the temperatures are falling rapidly.

Do check out Cathy’s anniversary vase and also the enthusiastic contributions linked in the comment section.

Have a good week!

About Frogend_dweller

Living in the damp middle of nowhere
This entry was posted in Flowers, Spring and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to In a Vase on Monday – Amethyst and Turquoise

  1. Oh, this is such a lovely arrangement and the colors meld so well together. Just beautiful!

    I’ve not heard of Valerie Finnis prior to reading your post and must track them down for my own garden as I’ve only grown the conventional blue ones to date.

  2. Cathy says:

    Oh what a lovely motley collection of blooms – a real tribute to early spring. Good to see The Dragon in the mix – I noticed mine was sprouting, as iare my dogwoods and I was just thinking perhaps I ought to start cutting them back… perhaps a dogwood themed vase is in the offing soon!! Thanks for sharing all your blooms today – you can tell from people’s vase they are enjoying the new treats of the season 😉

  3. Eliza Waters says:

    A lovely mix, Allison. I’m thinking I need to order some Muscari ‘Valerie Finnis’ for next year!

  4. The blue of the grape hyacinth works well with the other colours. Good to hear I’m not the only one dithering about cutting back dogwoods!

  5. Chloris says:

    A lovely spring vase. The flowers that bloom now are an absolute delight. I love the baby blue of Valerie Finnis. What a heavenly time of this year if this wind would just stop blowing.

  6. pbmgarden says:

    Your container is the essence of spring. I like that Erysimum ‘Bowles’s mauve’.

  7. Cathy says:

    Such lovely abundance in spring! Your winter must have been very mild. We are way behind you! Love the Red Dragon leaf. 🙂

  8. Tina says:

    I can’t imagine a ‘springier’ collection!

  9. Brian Skeys says:

    An impressive colourful spring collection.

  10. croftgarden says:

    A lovely collection of spring blooms. I’m a great fan of muscari and I particularly like the ice blue of Valerie Finnis.

  11. karen says:

    A beautiful medley of spring.

  12. Kris P says:

    What a wonderful mix! That pale blue hyacinth is something I’ve never seen before.

Leave a Reply

