The Flight of the Bumblebee

Yesterday the sun was shining brightly, the birds were singing, the bees were buzzing and this (queen buff-tailed I think) bumblebee was flying around nice and slowly, looking for potential nest sites maybe.

btbb3

btbb2

btbb1

btbb4

btbb5

As a bit of Sunday fun, in contrast to this dumbo-like slow fly-by, here is the Flight of the Bumblebee played very, very quickly by 7-year old Tsung Tsung.

 

About Frogend_dweller

Living in the damp middle of nowhere
This entry was posted in Bees, Spring, The home garden, Wildlife and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to The Flight of the Bumblebee

  1. Tina says:

    What great shots and thanks for inviting us onto the flight!

  2. Eliza Waters says:

    What a fat, little behind she has. 🙂 Bzzzz!

  3. Murtagh's Meadow says:

    Great shot of bumblebee in flight:-)

  4. Sue says:

    Bumblebees are like big fat fluffy teddy bears! I’ve only seen them once many years ago when I was in Tasmania visiting a lavender farm as we don’t have them here on the mainland. Enjoyed your photos and I watched the video of the little boy playing the piano. Enjoyed that too, one very gifted little boy.

    • Thanks Sue. When I read Steve Goulson book ‘A sting in the tale’ he mentioned a lack of bumblebees in New Zealand, but I hadn’t mentally extend that to Australia too. How interesting. I loved to see Tsung tsung’s enthusiasm. Wish I could play like that!

  5. Brian Skeys says:

    I watched the YouTube video, Wow!

  6. Alison C says:

    What brillint photographs. Were you lying in the grass?

  7. Hi – these are such beautiful photos of the Queen!

    May I post the photos up on to our face book page – we run a community garden in the east end of London and we are inundated with the beauties!

    I’d like to credit you with the photograph but I don’t know your name!

    Many thanks

    Sally Hone

    Canal Club Community Garden

    ________________________________

  8. Lovely pictures and as for the music,goodness me that little boy is phenomenal

Leave a Reply

