In a Vase on Monday – Spiked

iavom1

Today saw the start of the lengthy Box hedge-trimming operation in the Walled Garden at Wimpole and I was warned that, unless I wanted truncated and squared off border plants, I had to do something about the overhanging flowers in my borders. So I’ve temporarily propped back the exuberant desirables like stipa tenuissima, pennisetum villosa and agapantus, but pruned back the gaura, ammi, sage and salvia nemerosa. Looking down at the bunched stems of gaura in my hand I couldn’t bear to compost them, so I decided to bring some home to form the basis of a Monday vase. That means that I’m joining in with Cathy’s (at Rambling in the Garden) ever expanding ‘In a Vase on Monday’ meme using logical hedge trimmings (mostly)!

IAVOM3

Ammi major and Salvia nemerosa saved from the indignity of an electric hedge trim

It’s not all rescued trimmings though. I’ve added further purple spikes to the salvia prunings using buddleia and teucrium hircanicum from the garden at home.

iavom5

Purple spike of teucrium hircanicum

I’ve also had to tidy a lovely grass, pennisetum thunbergii, at our front door (so that the postie can get through to the letterbox) and those stems have added some punch to the arrangement.  I think that the pennisetum’s dusky pink tones exaggerate the carmine in the gaura and the tiny red eye in the buddleia flowers.

IAVOM2

I’ve picked some Penstemon ‘Garnet’ to echo the red in the gaura too. Meanwhile, the ammi major provides a nice central cloud from which all the spikes emerge.

iavom4

Don’t forget to click across to Cathy’s post to see what everyone else has gathered for their vases today.

About Frogend_dweller

Living in the damp middle of nowhere
This entry was posted in Flowers and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to In a Vase on Monday – Spiked

  1. Cathy says:

    That’s great recycling, Allison – I think we are all btter about using prunings in our vases instead of the compost heap these days. Is that pennisetum hardy? I need to add more grasses to my borders but it’s great to see existing ones beginning to establish. Thanks for sharing

  2. Your vase looks like an explosion of colorful fireworks…fabulous and fun!

  3. Brian Skeys says:

    I am pleased you didn’t compost them.

  4. Sharon says:

    Very pretty. My ammi is still green but hopefully it will make an appearance in a few weeks.

  5. I agree, the Wimpole trimmings were far too good to be discarded, nicely augmented too.

  6. Cathy says:

    A fabulous mixture of trimmings! I love Pennisetum, but only the boring little ones will get through our winters. The Ammi is a nice touch.

Leave a Reply

